Sivarajah re-elected chairperson of Anoka County Board

by Peter Bodley
Managing Editor

County Commissioner Rhonda Sivarajah

The Anoka County Board this morning (Tuesday, Jane. 3) re-elected County Commissioner Rhonda Sivarajah as its chairperson for the second straight year.

But the vote was not unanimous. County Commissioner Dan Erhart voted no.

And before the vote was taken to elect Sivarajah as chairperson, Erhart had made a motion to name County Commissioner Jim Kordiak the new chairperson.

That motion failed 4-3 with Erhart, Kordiak and County Commissioner Carol LeDoux voting in favor and County Commissioners Matt Look, Andy Westerberg, Robyn West and Sivarajah voting no.

LeDoux and Kordiak then voted in favor of Sivarajah’s election as chairperson.

Sivarajah was first elected to the county board in 2002 and was re-elected in 2004 and 2008.

She represents District 6, which includes all of Centerville, Circle Pines, Lino Lakes, Lexington, Columbus and Linwood Township as well as two precincts in Blaine.

Following her election as chairperson, Sivarajah thanked fellow board members for their support.

“We had a very busy year this past year with many significant changes made,” Sivarajah said.

“I look forward to working together to continue to advance the initiatives started by the board.”

According to Sivarajah, a new initiative in 2012 in which LeDoux will be very much involved is a lean organizational structure for county government.

Peter Bodley is at [email protected]