Begin, Burkhardt, Butler and Stewart capture section wrestling crowns

by Jason Olson
Sports Editor

Section 7AAA Wrestling
Coon Rapids had four wrestlers earn their place in the state tournament as the Section 7AAA individual tournament concluded at Elk River High School Feb. 25.
Among the entrants to earn runner-up at their weight classes were Blane Tschida (106 pounds), Joe Anderson (120) and Tanner Lowe (285). [smooth=id:544]

Lowe couldn’t get past STMA’s Michael Kessler in the finals 3-1. Anderson ran into STMA’s Cole Sladek in the finals losing 14-4. Tschida also lost to an STMA wrestler, Aaron Dick by a 6-4 score. Andover’s Corey Parsons earned a runner-up place at 160 pounds after losing to Cambridge-Isanti’s Travis Holt in the finals 6-2.

Andover’s Sam Stewart ended his match against Cambridge-Isanti’s Ty Torgerson at 5:40 of their 145-pound championship final. Torgerson then forfeit his True Second place match against Anoka’s Jeremy Beaman.

Cardinals 220-pounder Michael Burkhardt won a section weight class title by a 5-1 decision over STMA’s Nick Eding. Eding pinned St. Francis’ Sam Geriach in 1:42 to win his True Second place match.

Anoka’s Kyle Begin won the 170 pound title and returns to defend his state title. Begin pinned Forest Lake’s Michael Urgan at 1:46. Urgan won his True Second place match against Coon Rapids’ Brandt Halseth by a 7-1 score.

Blaine’s Caleb Butler won the 195 pound title with a 6-2 decision over STMA’s Mitchell Eull. Eull won his True Second place match over Anoka’s Clay Wherley by a 4-2 score.

St. Francis’ Taylor Charles earned a place at state by finishing runner-up at 152 pounds after a loss to Cambridge-Isanti’s Cody Skog by a fall 2:20.

Look for additional coverage in this week’s copies of the Anoka Union, Coon Rapids Herald and Blaine/Spring Lake Park Life. [smooth=id:545]