Select hockey series extend boys’ season

The boys’ hockey season is drawing to an end with its all-star series, including the Ted Brill Great 8 Tournament and the High Performance 18s tournament.

Great 8 recap
Section 5A/5AA posted a 1-2 record in the three-game series played at Wakota Arena in South St. Paul March 30-April 1.

Anoka’s Tyler Hong and Andrew Herlofsky joined Blaine teammates Dylan Lambert and Nick Malvin from this area on the select team.

Lambert had two goals and set-up a goal for Hong, while Malvin stopped eight of 12 shots in 27 minutes between the pipes when Section 5A/5AA began with a 12-4 win over Section 1A/1AA.

Malvin stopped 14 shots in a 4-2 loss to Section 7A/7AA March 31.

The tournament ended for Section 5A/5AA with a 5-4 loss to Section 4A/4AA thanks in part to a four-goal third period April 1. Herlofsky made it 3-1 late in the second period with his lone goal of the tournament. Malvin turned away 17-of-18 shots in the loss.

Andover senior Tyler Jokinen was part of the Section 7A/7AA team and picked up one assist in the tournament opening win over Section 6A/6AA 6-3. Section 7 went on to top Section 5A/5AA 4-2 before losing to Section 3A/3AA 4-3.

High Performance 18s recap
Jake Bruner (Coon Rapids) and Kristian Manthey (Anoka) skated for the Section 5 and 8 A/AA teams on the blue line as the squad went 0-3.

High Performance
Three Blaine teammates will take part in the 2011 Reebok Minnesota Hockey High Performance Boys’ 16 series at Plymouth Ice Center April 15-17.

Michael Brodzinski and Tyler Cline will play for the Blue team and Ian Scheid will skate for the White team.

Blaine goalie Nick Malvin was named to the 17s tournament’s blue team. Bengals teammate Dylan Lambert will play for the white team.