Statewide honor for 4-H program

The Association of Minnesota Counties has honored 4-H Youth Teaching Youth – Alcohol and Tobacco Decisions with a 4-H Community Leadership Award.

This project utilizes cross-age teaching to engage teen teachers in conveying the message on the dangers associated with underage drinking and tobacco use to 5,888 fourth-grade youth in Anoka, Dakota, Scott and Washington counties.

There were 699 teen teachers involved in this program that benefited from the experience while helping other youth.

Accepting the award on behalf of Anoka County were 4-H Youth Teaching Youth volunteer teen teachers Molly Evavold, Sarah Kobelinski and Whitney Leisner along with 4-H Youth Teaching Youth Program Coordinator Layne Tralle.

The teen teachers had the opportunity to meet with Anoka County Commissioner Dan Erhart at the 4-H awards luncheon.

For more information regarding the Anoka County 4-H youth development program, call 763-755-1280 or visit