Anoka-Ramsey Community College students earn honors

Three Phi Theta Kappa members from Anoka-Ramsey Community College were recently awarded scholarships based on their academic achievements, community service involvement and leadership accomplishments.

David Corgan was a recipient of the Guistwhite Scholarship, and Nadia Pedersen and Allison Sivigny were named 2012 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Scholars.

Corgan, who is seeking an associate of science in engineering at Anoka-Ramsey, has served as the vice president of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), public relations coordinator for the Minnesota State College Student Association, editor-in-chief for the school newspaper, president for the Astronomy Club, Math Club and for the Student Government.

He was also the co-founder and vice president of the Magic the Gathering Club and of the Computer Science Club. Corgan’s accomplishments earned him a $5,000 scholarship for baccalaureate studies.

After he graduates from Anoka-Ramsey, he plans to study at the University of Minnesota.

Guistwhite Scholars are selected based on academic achievement, leadership accomplishment and engagement in Phi Theta Kappa programs. This year’s 20 recipients were selected from more than 2,240 applicants.

Pedersen was named a Coca-Cola Gold Scholar. She is the current president of the college math team, vice president of fellowship for Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), a member of the Math Club and a member of the Anoka-Ramsey Concert Choir.

She has a 4.0 grade-point average earning her three consecutive semesters on the dean’s list.

After earning her degree from Anoka-Ramsey, Pedersen plans to transfer to the University of Minnesota College of Science and Engineering.

Sivigny, who was named a Coca-Cola Silver Scholar, is a business major at the college, currently has a 4.0 grade-point average and has been on the dean’s list consecutively since 2009.

She is currently the vice president of communications in PTK and received the Distinguished Officer award at the PTK Regional Conference this spring.

Coca-Cola scholar recipients are nominated by community college presidents. When selecting the recipients, the scholarship judges consider outstanding academic rigor, grade-point average, academic and leadership awards and engagement in college and community service.

Corgan, Pedersen and Sivigny were also members of the All-Minnesota Academic Team.

To be nominated to the All-Minnesota Academic Team, a student must be enrolled at a Minnesota two-year college, have completed at least 12 semester credits and have a 3.5 grade-point average.

Nominees were selected based on biographical information, letters of recommendation, academic performance, demonstration of leadership and campus and community service involvement.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,280 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions.

More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.