District 11 board approves new election boundaries

Changes to the Anoka-Hennepin School District’s election districts have been given approval.

Unanimous action came at the school board’s April 30 meeting following a public hearing at which nobody spoke regarding the proposed changes.

Redistricting is required every 10 years.

The changes were made based on the results of the 2010 U.S. Census with the goal to have consistent population numbers in each district. School district election boundaries must also use municipal voting precincts in determining boundaries.

The goal was to have a population of 38,238 in each election district. Anoka-Hennepin has a total population of 229,430.

“These are relatively minor changes compared to 10 years ago,” said School Board Chairman Tom Heidemann.

In the southeast corner of District 1, a portion of Coon Rapids was added. In all, the district encompasses the entire city of Anoka, a portion of Ramsey (specifically Ward 2, Ward 3 and Ward 4), Precinct P-2 in Andover and Ward 4, Precinct 1 in Coon Rapids.

Election District 2 includes a portion of Blaine in Ward 1, precincts 1 and 4; Ward 2, precincts 1, 2A, 2B, 3, 4A, 5 and 6; Ward 3, precincts 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8.

District 2 also has the portion of Coon Rapids located in Ward 5, precincts 1 and 2.

Election District 3 includes the city of Dayton, all precincts in Champlin and a part of Coon Rapids, including Ward 3, Precinct 1 and Ward 4, precincts 2, 3 and 4.

District 4 includes the city of Ham Lake; Andover voters in precincts 1, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9; Ramsey voters in Ward 1, precincts 1 and 2; Nowthen and Oak Grove.

Election District 5 required the most balancing according to Steve Kerr, director of community education.

It now includes the city of Fridley within District 11, Brooklyn Center and Brooklyn Park as well as Coon Rapids voters in Ward 3, precincts 2, 3 and 4 and Ward 5, precincts 3, 4 and 5.

Election District 6 includes the remainder of Coon Rapids voters in Ward 1, precincts 1, 2, 3 and 4 and Ward 2, precincts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5, as well as Andover voters in precincts 3, 4 and 10.

Kelly Johnson is at [email protected]

up arrow
Don't Miss A Thing!

Our news stories are now available through email. Simply enter your email address below and click “Subscribe” to see the new stories every day.