Medtronic Scholars named from three local schools

The Medtronic Foundation has announced that 18 students have been selected as 2012 Medtronic Scholars.

Each will receive a four-year scholarship totaling $16,000, as well as support services to assist them in their collegiate studies.

Comprising students representing nine Twin Cities’ north suburban high schools, including Blaine, Spring Lake Park and Coon Rapids, the class of 2012 Medtronic Scholars were honored May 7 at Medtronic World Headquarters in Fridley.

Medtronic Scholars are chosen for their academic records, demonstrated leadership, community service and participation in extra-curricular activities.

Local recipients were:

• Jean Diaz, Blaine, Iowa State University.

• Amanda Weitgenant, Blaine, North Dakota State University.

• Andrea Deerberg, Coon Rapids, University of Minnesota – Twin Cities.

• Hawi Tilahune, Coon Rapids, Macalester College.

• Erich Erdmann, Spring Lake Park, University of Minnesota – Twin Cities.

• Vivian Nguyen, Spring Lake Park, University of Minnesota – Twin Cities.

This is the fifth year of the Medtronic Scholars program, with the Medtronic Foundation continuing to add 18 scholars each year.

To date, the Medtronic Foundation has committed $1,440,000 to local scholars through this program.

The Medtronic Scholars program was created in partnership with Wallin Education Partners, which will administer the scholarships and provide comprehensive advising services to award winners to help ensure college graduation.

Since 1991, the Wallin Education Partners program has awarded more than 3,200 scholarships and more than $30 million dollars to support high-potential students with financial need from Minneapolis, Anoka-Hennepin, St. Paul and North Metro district high schools.