Filings for the 2012 election open Tuesday

The 2012 election season officially gets under way Tuesday.

That’s when filings open for the various offices – federal, state, county and some cities – that will be on the ballot at the Nov. 6 general election.

Minnesota Senate and House districts in Anoka County.
Minnesota Senate and House districts in Anoka County.

The filing period begins at 8 a.m. May 22 and runs through 5 p.m. Tuesday, June 5, except for Monday, May 28 when government offices will be closed for the Memorial Day weekend.

This particular filing period is only for offices for which there will be a primary election Tuesday, Aug. 14.

And where candidates file depends on where they live and for which office they are filing.

Federal offices on the state election ballot this year, besides the presidential race, are 10 presidential electors, U.S. Senator (incumbent is Sen. Amy Klobuchar) and all six U.S. House members in Minnesota.

Three of those House districts cover parts of Anoka County.

District 3, where Republican Erik Paulsen is incumbent, includes all of the city of Coon Rapids within its boundaries, while District 5, where DFLer Keith Ellison is the incumbent, covers Columbia Heights, Fridley, Hilltop and Spring Lake Park as well as the city of Minneapolis.

The remainder of Anoka County is in the 6th District where Republican Michele Bachmann is the incumbent congresswoman.

Candidates for those offices file at the Minnesota Secretary of State’s office in St. Paul.

For the Minnesota Senate and House as well as judicial offices (Minnesota Supreme Court, Minnesota Court of Appeals and 10th Judicial District), candidates can either file at the Secretary of State’s office or in the county where they live.

Anoka County commissioner districts.
Anoka County commissioner districts.

As a result of redistricting earlier this year, all Minnesota Senate and House seats will be on the 2012 general election ballot.

Senate districts affecting Anoka County communities are 31, 35, 36, 37, 38 and 41; House districts impacting county communities are 31A, 31B, 35A, 35B, 36A, 36B, 37A, 37B, 38A, 41A and 41B.

Judicial offices on the ballot are the Minnesota Supreme Court chief justice and two associate justice seats, two court of appeal judges and 11 judges in the 10th Judicial District, which includes Anoka County.

Candidates for the six Anoka County Board seats that will be on the 2012 ballot file at the Anoka County Government Center.

They are districts 1, 2, 3, 5, 6 and 7; there will be no election this year in District 4 following approval of the new redistricting map.

The elections in districts 1, 2, 3 and 6 will be for four-year terms, while the district 5 and 7 elections are for two-year terms.

Three Anoka Soil and Water Conservation District supervisor positions will be on the ballot, too – 1, 2 and 5.

Filings in four Anoka County cities – Anoka, Blaine, Coon Rapids and Ramsey – also open Tuesday and run through June 5.

In Anoka the offices of mayor and two city councilmembers are on the ballot this year. There will be an Aug. 14 primary if more than two candidates file for mayor and/or if more than four candidates for the two at-large council seats.

The other three cities have wards where if more than two candidates file in each ward, a primary election is triggered. The same is true when the offices of mayor and councilmember at-large are on the ballot.

In Blaine, the offices of mayor and councilmembers in wards 1, 2 and 3 will be on the ballot.

In Coon Rapids, offices up for election this year are councilmembers in wards 1, 2 and 4 as well as at-large.

On the Ramsey ballot will be the offices of mayor, councilmember at-large and councilmembers in wards 2 and 4.

Candidates for city offices file at their respective city halls.


Peter Bodley is at [email protected]