County veterans council elects officers

The Anoka County Veterans Council (ACVC) has elected officers for 2012-2013. The new officers were elected to one-year terms.

They were Chairman Gary Exley from the Sgt. John Rice VFW Post 6316 in Blaine, Vice Chairman Bruce Sanders from the Coon Rapids American Legion Post 334, Treasurer Tom Bohlman from Coon Rapids VFW Post 9625, Chaplain Doris Anderson from Fridley VFW Post 363 and Historians Carol and Erv Lewandowski from Coon Rapids American Legion Post 334.

The office of secretary has not been filled.

Retiring from the office of secretary after 26 years of service was Shirley Reich. She was presented with a plaque honoring those years by outgoing Chairman Marv Roepke.

ACVC has again organized the traditional Memorial Day remembrance services to be held at Morningside Memorial Gardens in Coon Rapids as well as Veterans Memorial at Bunker Hills Regional Park Saturday, May 26.

The Morningside service begins at 10 a.m. and at 11:30 a.m. at the Veterans Memorial. The public is invited to attend both services.

The Anoka County Veterans Council is an organization open to all veterans and members of veterans organizations residing in Anoka County, although affiliation with any other veterans group is not required.

Meetings take place the second Saturday of each month at various sites throughout the county.

The June meeting will be at the Fridley American Legion Post 303, 1040 Osborne Road.

For more information call 763-757-8486.