At least two county board races will have primaries

Primary elections are assured in two of the six Anoka County Board seats on this year’s election ballot.

Through the first week of filings (Tuesday, May 29), four candidates have filed in both districts 1 and 2.

The top two votegetters in the Tuesday, Aug. 14 primary election advance to the Nov. 6 general election.

In District 1, which includes two precincts in Anoka and all of Ramsey, Nowthen, Oak Grove and St. Francis, incumbent Matt Look is opposed by Tom Gamec, Allison Lister and Dan Denno.

Look, a former Ramsey City Council member, was first elected to the county board in 2010.

Gamec is a former Ramsey mayor, Denno serves on the Oak Grove City Council and Lister is a former Anoka County veterans service officer.

In District 2, which includes two precincts in Blaine, parts of Andover and all of Ham Lake, East Bethel and Bethel, incumbent Andy Westerberg has been challenged by Julie Braastad, Debbie Johnson and Mike Jungbauer.

A former state legislator, Westerberg was first elected to the county board two years ago.

Braastad is a Ham Lake City Council member, while Debbie Johnson, a former state senator, lost to Westerberg in the 2010 election. Jungbauer currently serves in the Minnesota Senate.

There are currently two-person races in two districts – 6 and 7.

In District 6, Anoka County Board Chairperson Rhonda Sivarajah, who was first elected to the board in 2002, is opposed by Kevin Ryan in a re-run of the 2008 election.

District 6 covers the eastern portion of the county including parts of Blaine and all of Lexington, Lino Lakes, Centerville, Circle Pines, Columbus and Linwood Township.

Longtime County Commissioner Dan Erhart, who was first elected to the board in 1982, has been challenged in District 7 by Coon Rapids City Councilmember Scott Schulte, who is in his 12th year on the council.

District 7 includes the western portion of Coon Rapids, plus parts of Anoka and two precincts in western Andover.

So far, Anoka County Commissioner Robyn West, seeking a third term, is unopposed in District 3, which comprises most of Blaine, plus two precincts in Spring Lake Park.

In District 5, where the incumbent is County Commissioner Carol LeDoux, only Scott Randall Bromley has filed to date.

District 5 covers the eastern part of Coon Rapids, four precincts in southern Andover and one precinct in northwest Fridley.

Redistricting earlier this year resulted in three districts – 1, 2 and 3 – being on the ballot even thought there had been elections in those districts in 2010.

Only District 4, where the incumbent is County Commissioner Jim Kordiak is the incumbent, is not on the ballot in 2012.

That district includes all of Columbia Heights and Hilltop, plus all but one precinct in Fridley and one precinct in Spring Lake Park.

To date, there are no contested primaries on the Aug. 14 ballot for state legislative races affecting Anoka County communities.

Minnesota Senate filings through May 29 include:

District 31: Michelle Benson, R, incumbent; Mike Starr, DFL.

• District 35: Peter Perovich, DFL.

• District 36: John Hoffman, DFL.

• District 37: Pam Wolf, R, incumbent; Alice Johnson, DFL.

• District 38: Roger Chamberlain, R, incumbent; Timothy Henderson, DFL.

• District 41: Gina Bauman, R.

Minnesota House candidates to date are:

• District 31A: Kurt Daudt, R, incumbent.

• District 31B: Tom Hackbarth, R, incumbent.

• District 35A: Jim Abeler, R, incumbent; Andy Hillebregt, DFL; Justin Boals, Independence.

• District 38B: Samuel Beard, DFL;

• District 36A: Grace Baltich, DFL.

• District 36B: Melissa Hortman, DFL, incumbent; Andrew Reinhardt, R.

• District 37A: Jerry Newton, DFL.

• District 37B: no one has filed.

• District 38A: no one has filed.

• District 41A: Connie Bernardy, DFL.

• District 41B: Carolyn Laine, DFL, incumbent.


Peter Bodley is at [email protected]