Primaries are set for two Coon Rapids council seats

There will be at least two Coon Rapids City Council primary elections Tuesday, Aug. 14.

Through the first week the first week of filings (Tuesday, May 29), more than two candidates had filed for office in Ward 2 and for the at-large seat.

They are two of four seats that will be on the Nov. 6 general election ballot.

For the at-large council position, for which Councilmember Scott Schulte is not seeking re-election after three, four-year terms, there are four candidates.

• Ethan Campbell, 2160 111th Lane N.W.

• Roger Johnson, 13132 Osage St. N.W.

• Sean Novack, 10666 Killdeer St. N.W.

• Steve Wells, 12322 Ivywood St. N.W.

The other assured primary is in Ward 2 where incumbent Melissa Larson has had two residents file against her to date.

Candidates are:

• Melissa Larson, 11973 Crane St. N.W.

• Tracy N. Trull, 1001 120th Ave. N.W.

• Jeramy Wyttenback, 1587 118th Lane N.W.

The top two votegetters in each primary election will advance to the general election.

So far, only the incumbents have filed for re-election for the other two seats on this year’s ballot.

They are Councilmember Denise Klint, 12162 Kerry St. N.W., in Ward 1 and Councilmember Jerry Koch, 10560 Mississippi Blvd., in Ward 4.

Klint will be seeking her fourth term on the council, while Koch will be running in his first election; he was appointed to serve on the council last year following the resignation of Joe Sidoti, who moved to Florida.

Filing close at 5 p.m. Tuesday, June 5.

Candidates have until 5 p.m. Thursday, June 7 to withdraw.

Peter Bodley is at [email protected]