UPDATE: Two Blaine council incumbents now face election races

Two Blaine City Council incumbents – Councilmember Mike Bourke and Councilmember Dick Swanson – will have election foes this fall.

Mayor Tom Ryan, 12147 Radisson Road, had faced a short-lived challenge from Ross Lorsiner, 10638 Lincoln St. N.E., but Lorsiner withdrew Thursday from the race.

In March, Ryan announced he would seek a fifth term as Blaine mayor in this fall’s general election.

In 1985, Ryan served a year as a Blaine Planning Commission member before being elected the following year to the council as a District 2 representative.

After 10 years of city council service, Ryan was elected to his first term as Blaine’s mayor in 1996; his current four-year term in office ends Jan. 7, 2013.

In Council Ward 1, Swanson, 8702 Hastings Circle, is opposed by Jason Babler, 2830 Rice Creek Parkway N.E.

In Council Ward 2, Bourke will face Dave Morrell, 2457 Tournament Players Circle S.

In Council Ward 3, Incumbent Russ Herbst, 12857 Lever Street N.E., is running unopposed, Deputy City Clerk Catherine Ekstrand reported in an e-mail.

There will be no Tuesday, Aug. 14 city primary election in Blaine.

The filing period began at 8 a.m. May 22 and ran through 5 p.m. Tuesday.

Tim Hennagir is at [email protected]