Three Coon Rapids City Council primaries on ballot

Three Coon Rapids City Council seats will be on the primary election ballot Tuesday, Aug. 14.

When filings closed Tuesday, six candidates, including incumbent Councilmember Melissa Larson, had filed for the Ward 2 seat; there were four candidates for the at-large job, which is open this year because of Councilmember Scott Schulte’s decision to run for the Anoka County Board; and three candidates were on the Ward 1 ballot where incumbent Councilmember Denise Klint is seeking re-election to a fourth term.

A primary election takes place if more than two candidates filed for a council seat.

The top two vote-getters in the Aug. 14 primary will advance to the Tuesday, Nov. 6 general election.

There will be no primary election for the other seat on the ballot.

Indeed, Councilmember Jerry Koch, who was appointed by the council last year to fill the vacant Ward 4 seat left by the resignation of Joe Sidoti, who moved to Florida, is unopposed. There had been 10 applicants for the Ward 4 vacancy.

Following are the candidates who have filed for the four council seats on this year’s ballot:

• Ward 1: incumbent Denise Klint, 12162 Kerry St. N.W.; Chad Newman, 12305 Jonquil St. N.W.; Jerry Pierce, 12236 Partridge St. N.W.

• Ward 2: Ken Boelter, 13068 Bluebird St. N.W.; Sonia Evans, 11710 Olive St. N.W.; incumbent Melissa Larson, 11973 Crane St. N.W.; Ron Manning, 525 127th Lane N.W.; Tracy Trull, 1001 120th Ave. N.W.; and Jeramy Wyttenback, 1587 118th Lane N.W. Larson beat Manning, who was the incumbent, in the Ward 2 election four years ago.

• Ward 4: incumbent Jerry Koch, 10560 Mississippi Blvd. N.W.

• At-large: Ethan Campbell, 2160 111th Lane N.W.; Roger Johnson, 13132 Osage St. N.W.; Sean Novack, 10666 Killdeer St. N.W.; Steve Wells, 12322 Ivywood St. N.W.

Candidates had until 5 p.m. Thursday, June 7 to withdraw.

Peter Bodley is at
[email protected]