Two Anoka County Board members face primary elections

Two incumbent Anoka County Board members seeking re-election will face primary election opposition from three challengers Tuesday, Aug. 14.

Matt Look, District 1, and Andy Westerberg, District 2, who were both first elected to the board two years ago, will be on the primary election ballot.

Look, a former Ramsey City Council member, is opposed by Dan Denno, Oak Grove; Tom Gamec, Ramsey; and Allison Lister, Oak Grove.

Denno is an Oak Grove City Council member; Gamec is a former Ramsey mayor; and Lister is the former Anoka County veterans service officer.

District 1 includes Ramsey, Nowthen, Oak Grove, St. Francis and two precincts in Anoka.

Meanwhile in District 2, Westerberg of Blaine, a former state representative, has primary election opposition from Julie Braastad, a Ham City Council member; Debbie Johnson, Ham Lake, a former state senator; and Mike Jungbauer, East Bethel, who is retiring from the state senate this year.

Westerberg beat Johnson in the 2010 election in District 2, which covers Ham Lake, East Bethel, Bethel, parts of Andover and three precincts in northern Blaine.

The top two vote-getters in the primary election will advance to the Tuesday, Nov. 6 general election.

There will be four other county board seats on the general election ballot and all the incumbents have opposition.

In District 3, incumbent Robyn West, Blaine, is opposed by Dan Sanders, Blaine. The district includes most of Blaine and two precincts in Spring Lake Park.

Incumbent Carol LeDoux, Coon Rapids, has been challenged by Scott Randall Bromley, Coon Rapids, in District 5, which includes four precincts in southern Andover, the eastern portion of Coon Rapids and one precinct in northern Fridley.

Anoka County Board Chairman Rhonda Sivarajah, Lino Lakes, will have a re-rerun from the 2008 election in District 6 when she faces Kevin Ryan, Linwood Township.

District 6 encompasses eastern Anoka County, including a small portion of eastern Blaine plus Lexington, Lino Lakes, Centerville, Circle Pines, Columbus and Linwood.

The District 7 election pits longtime incumbent Dan Erhart, Coon Rapids, against Coon Rapids City Councilmember Scott Schulte, Coon Rapids.

The district includes the western portion of Coon Rapids, parts of Anoka and two precincts in western Andover.

The only county board seat not on the ballot this year following redistricting is District 4 (Columbia Heights, Hilltop, most of Fridley and one precinct in Spring Lake Park) where Jim Kordiak is the longtime incumbent.

State Legislature

There will be two contested primary elections for two Minnesota House seats affecting districts in Anoka County, one DFL and the other Republican.

The DFL primary will be in District 35B, which includes most of Andover, a small portion of Ramsey and parts of northern Coon Rapids, where Samuel Beard and Sam Scott will face off to decide who meets incumbent GOP Rep. Peggy Scott in the general election.

The Republican primary is in District 37B where incumbent Rep. Tim Sanders has been challenged by Torey Hall. Jon Chlebeck is DFL candidate in the district that includes most of Blaine.

Minnesota Senate filings are:

District 31: Michelle Benson, R, incumbent; Mike Starr, DFL. The district includes Nowthen, St. Francis, most of Oak Grove, a portion of Andover, Ham Lake, East Bethel, Bethel, Columbus and Linwood Township.

• District 35: Peter Perovich, DFL; Branden Peterson, R, incumbent. The district covers Anoka, Ramsey, most of Andover and a portion of northern Coon Rapids.

• District 36: John Hoffman, DFL; Benjamin Kruse, R, incumbent. The district includes west and central Coon Rapids as well as Brooklyn Park, Champlin and Dayton in Hennepin County.

• District 37: Pam Wolf, R, incumbent; Alice Johnson, DFL. The district covers the eastern part of Coon Rapids as well as southwest Blaine and most of Spring Lake Park.

• District 38: Roger Chamberlain, R, incumbent; Timothy Henderson, DFL. The district includes the southeast portion of Anoka County as well as parts of Ramsey County.

• District 41: Gina Bauman, R; Barb Goodwin, DFL, incumbent. Columbia Heights, Fridley, Hilltop and one precinct of Spring Lake Park are the portions of Anoka County in the district.

Minnesota House candidates are:

• District 31A: Kurt Daudt, R, incumbent; Ryan Fiereck, DFL.

• District 31B: Tom Hackbarth, R, incumbent; Louise Fay Woodberry, DFL.

• District 35A: Jim Abeler, R, incumbent; Justin Boals, Independence; Andy Hillebregt, DFL.

• District 38B: Samuel Beard, DFL; Peggy Scott, R, incumbent; Sam Scott, DFL.

• District 36A: Grace Baltich, DFL; Mark Uglem, R.

• District 36B: Melissa Hortman, DFL, incumbent; Andrew Kratoska, Independence; Andrew Reinhardt, R.

• District 37A: Mandy Benz, R; Jerry Newton, DFL.

• District 37B: Jon Chlebeck, DFL; Torey Hall, R; Tim Sanders, R, incumbent.

• District 38A: Patrick Davern, DFL; Linda Runbeck, R, incumbent.

• District 41A: Connie Bernardy, DFL; Dale Helm, R.

• District 41B: Carolyn Laine, DFL, incumbent; Laura Palmer, R.


There are 11 judges seats in the 10th Judicial District, which includes Anoka County, on the ballot this year.

But none of the incumbents have any opposition.

They are judges P. Hunter Anderson, Daniel A. O’Fallon, James E. Dehn, Kathleen A. Mottl, Dyanna L. Street, Elizabeth (Betsy) H. Martin, Todd Schoffelman, Sharon L. Hall, Bethany A. Fountain Lindberg, Sean A Gibbs and Mary Yunker.

Peter Bodley is at
[email protected]

Comments Closed