Coon Rapids council member ends re-election bid

Councilmember Melissa Larson. File photo
Councilmember Melissa Larson. File photo

Larson, who had filed for re-election, withdrew from the race yesterday (Thursday, June 7), the last day for doing so after filings closed June 5.

According to Larson, she started a new full-time job last week in Plymouth.

And with three children at home, Larson said she would not have the time to devote to the council job “that the community deserves.”

Larson was elected to the council at the November 2008 general election for a four-year term.

Her withdrawal from the Ward 2 race leaves five candidates to contest the Tuesday, Aug. 14 primary election with the top two vote-getters advancing to the Tuesday, Nov. 6 general election.

They are:

• Ken Boelter, 13068 Bluebird St. N.W.

• Sonia Evans, 11710 Olive St. N.W.

• Ron Manning, 525 127th Lane N.W.

• Tracy N. Trull, 1001 120th Ave. N.W.

• Jeramy Wyttenback, 1587 118th Lane N.W.

“There are some very qualified people running in Ward 2,” Larson said.

Manning was the incumbent Ward 2 councilmember who Larson defeated in the 2008 election.

Peter Bodley is at
[email protected]