Credit union awards scholarships to six students

The Anoka Hennepin Credit Union (AHCU) has awarded scholarships to six high school students, who have received $500 each to further their education in the 2012-2013 academic year.

“We’re thrilled to support the educational endeavors of these promising young adults,” said Jeff Claussen, chief executive officer, Anoka Hennepin Credit Union.

“They have demonstrated academic and community leadership, and are members of AHCU. We’re proud to have them as members and wish them every success.”

Applications were received from students at local area high schools.

The winners are students at Andover, Champlin Park, Blaine, St. Francis, Centennial and Coon Rapids high schools.

AHCU branch managers personally presented the awards to the students.

Applicants are required to be a primary member of AHCU and the school they plan to attend must be a public or private university, or two or four-year community or technical college.

Financial need is not a consideration in the evaluation process.

The  Anoka Hennepin Credit Union is a state-chartered credit union. It was originally chartered as the Anoka Hennepin School District 11 Employees Credit Union in 1963.

After several mergers, the credit union changed its name to Anoka Hennepin Credit Union in 1993 to more accurately reflect its broadened community base. It now serves more than 18,000 members from six locations – Anoka, Champlin, Circle Pines, Coon Rapids, Forest Lake and St. Francis – and registers assets of over $135 million.