Jeff Simon appointed to District 11 School Board

Jeff Simon is the new District 6 representative on the Anoka-Hennepin School Board.

Jeff Simon. Photo by Kelly Johnson
Jeff Simon. Photo by Kelly Johnson

Simon was unanimously appointed to the position at the board’s meeting Monday night.

The Coon Rapids resident was sworn into office and will serve the remainder of a term that expires Jan. 1, 2014.

Simon works in business but also has experience in education, having pursued a degree in both fields.

He has been active in his children’s school and been involved in the parent-teacher organization.

Simon also applied for a vacant school board position in 2008 and ran for the school board in the 2009 election.

He served on the district’s Future Focus Team in 2011.

“I’ve always wanted to stay involved,” Simon said about education and why he applied to serve on the school board.

District 6 includes the eastern portion of Coon Rapids and the southwest portion of Andover.

Simon replaces former school board member Kathy Tingelstad, who resigned April 19.

The board then waited to fill the vacant position until redistricting was complete.

Seven applications were received for the vacant position – Jennifer Drummy, William F. Hammes, Roger I. Johnson, Kelly J. Larrabee, Patrick J. Murray, Simon and Tiffany Strabala.

According to School Board Chairman Tom Heidemann, school board members separately scored the resumes on a set list of criteria.

The top four applicants were interviewed by the school board June 21.

Following the interviews, board members submitted their ratings and rankings to Heidemann.

Simon received the top ranking from all the board members.

“This was a very difficult decision because there were so many qualified individuals,” Heidemann said.

Kelly Johnson is at [email protected]