Contested primaries on Anoka County ballot Aug. 14

Contested primaries will be on ballot in Anoka County Tuesday, Aug. 14 for national, state, county and city elective offices.

The top two vote-getters in the primary elections advance to the general election Tuesday, Nov. 6.

Polls will be open Tuesday from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Two of the six Anoka County Board seats on this year’s election ballot have contested primaries.

In District 1, which includes Ramsey, Oak Grove, Nowthen, St. Francis, Bethel and part of Anoka, incumbent Commissioner Matt Look, Ramsey, is challenged by Dan Denno, Oak Grove; Tom Gamec, Ramsey; and Allison Lister, Oak Grove.

Incumbent Commissioner Andy Westerberg, Blaine, has opposition from Julie Braastad, Ham Lake; Debbie Johnson, Ham Lake; and Mike Jungbauer, East Bethel, in the primary in District 2, which encompasses Ham Lake, East Bethel and parts of Blaine, and Andover.

There are two contested primary elections for Minnesota House seats in the county.

In District 35B, two DFLers are vying for the chance to challenge Rep. Peggy Scott, Andover, in the general election.

They are Samuel Beard, Coon Rapids, and Sam Scott, Andover. The district includes most of Andover, a portion of northern Coon Rapids and a portion of northeastern Ramsey.

There is a Republican primary in House District 37B, which covers most of Blaine.

Incumbent GOP Rep. Tim Sanders has opposition from Torey Hall Aug. 14. DFL candidate Jon Chlebeck has no primary opponent.

There are three primary elections for the U.S. Senate seat where DFL incumbent Amy Klobuchar is seeking re-election.

In the DFL primary, Klobuchar is opposed by Dick Franson, Darryl Stanton and Jack Edward Shepard, while Republican endorsed candidate Kurt Bills has been challenged by Bob Carney Jr. and David Carlson.

The Independence Party did not endorse a candidate, but Glen R. Anderson Menze and Stephen Williams are squaring off in the party primary.

The top vote-getter in each primary will carry that party’s colors into the Nov. 6 general election.

There are three U.S. Congressional Districts in Anoka County – 3, 5 and 6.

In the Third District, which includes all of Coon Rapids, Republican incumbent Erik Paulsen is opposed by John Howard III, while the Democrat endorsee Brian Barnes is unopposed.

Incumbent Democrat U.S. Rep. Keith Ellison in the Fifth District has primary opposition from Gary Boisclair and Gregg A. Iverson, while Chris Field, the Republican endorsed candidate has no primary opponent.

Spring Lake Park, Fridley, Columbia Heights, Hilltop are part of the Fifth District.

In the Sixth Congressional District, which includes the rest of Anoka County, incumbent Republican Michele Bachmann has been challenged by Aubrey Immelman and Stephen Thompson.

The DFL endorsed candidate Jim Graves is unopposed in the primary.

There are two primaries for U.S. Supreme Court seats on the ballot this year.

Incumbent Chief Justice Lori Skjerven Gildea has been challenged by Jill Clark and Dan Griffith for one seat, while incumbent Justice David Stras has opposition from Alan Nelson and Tim Tingelstad in the other.

The top two vote-getters in each Supreme Court primary go on the general election ballot.

Peter Bodley is at [email protected]

Comments Closed