Scott, Sanders win Minnesota House primaries

When voters head to the polls this November, there will be two Scotts on the ballot in Minnesota House District 35B.

In one of two contested primary elections for Minnesota House seats in the county, DFLer Sam Scott of Andover beat out Samuel Beard of Coon Rapids, earning 71 percent of the vote, with the support of 497 votes to Beard’s 205.

Scott, a Democrat, will now take on Republican incumbent Rep. Peggy Scott, of Andover, in the Nov. 6 general election.

This district includes most of Andover, a portion of northern Coon Rapids and a portion of northeast Ramsey.

In Minnesota House District 37B, incumbent GOP Rep. Tim Sanders will once again be on the ballot this November. Sanders, who has received 90 percent of the primary vote. Sanders easily beat out newcomer Torey Hall with 978 votes to 112 for Hall, who challenged him for the Republican spot on the ballot to represent the district, which covers most of Blaine.

Sanders will take on DFLer John Chelbeck, who was uncontested in the primary.

Comments Closed