Coon Rapids candidates compete for four council seats

Four of the seven Coon Rapids City Council seats will be on the general election ballot Tuesday, Nov. 6.

There are contests in three of them.

In Ward 4 Councilmember Jerry Koch, 10560 Mississippi Blvd., who was appointed to the council last year after former Councilmember Joe Sidoti resigned because he moved out of the city and the state for work reasons, is unopposed.

Two of the seats on the ballot are open. Councilmember Scott Schulte is not running for re-election for the at-large position, nor is Councilmember Melissa Larson in Ward 2.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday.

Candidates for contests in Ward 1, Ward 2 and the at-large council seats are (in alphabetical order):

• Ward 1: Incumbent Denise Klint, 12162 Kerry St. N.W.; Chad Newman, 12305 Jonquil St. N.W.

• Ward 2: Ken Boelter, 13068 Bluebird St. N.W.; Ron Manning, 535 127th Lane N.W.

• At-large: Roger Johnson, 13132 Osage St. N.W.; Steve Wells, 12322 Ivywood St. N.W.

Coon Rapids has several new polling places for this year’s general election following redistricting that took place earlier this year because of 2010 U.S. Census population figures.

Redistricting has shifted ward and precinct boundaries in the city, but the number of precincts, 22, remains the same.

“While many of the same polling locations are being utilized, most are being designated for different precincts,” said City Clerk Cathy Sorensen.

In a couple of cases, two precincts have the same polling places.

Peter Bodley is at [email protected]

Comments Closed