Blaine, Spring Lake Park council candidates seek votes

On Nov. 6 voters will go to the polls and cast their ballots to select those who will represent them as mayors and members of the city councils.

Polls are open on Tuesday from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. To find your polling location, which may have changed due to redistricting, visit

The following is an overview of the city races in Blaine and Spring Lake Park. Visit on election night to find out who has been elected to represent your city and Anoka County.


While Mayor Tom Ryan, 12147 Radisson Road, and Ward 3 Councilmember Russ Herbst, 12875 Lever St. N.E., have no challengers for their respective four-year seats, Blaine voters will have a choice between two candidates for both Ward 1 and Ward 2.

Dick Swanson, 8702 Hastings Circle, is seeking another four-year term on the council in Ward 1. Jason Babler, 2830 Rice Creek Parkway N.E., is challenging the incumbent councilmember.

Incumbent Councilmember Mike Bourke, 83 103rd Ave. N.E., is facing Dave Morrell, 2457 Tournament Players Circle South, in Ward 3.

Spring Lake Park

Spring Lake Park voters will be selecting two city councilmembers during Tueday’s election.

Six candidates are running for the seats currently held by Barbara Carlson, who has chosen to not run for re-election, and Bill Nash.

The candidates are Tony Easter, 661 Ione Ave. N.E.; Dan Lambert, 7892 Tyler St. N.E.; Jason Letourneau, 8001 Fifth St. N.E.; Bill Nash, 7723 Jackson St. N.E.; Bob Nelson, 7805 Jackson St. N.E.; and Larry Raymond, 8012 Fifth St. N.E.

Comments Closed