President, Congress, Legislature on the ballot

Anoka County voters will be electing a U.S. President, U.S. Senator and U.S. House members as well as members of the Minnesota Senate and House, the Anoka County Board and city councils when they go to the polls Tuesday from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Two Minnesota constitutional amendments will also be on the ballot Nov. 6.

One is the so-called marriage amendment and the other the voter ID amendment. For each to pass, 50 percent of those voting must vote yes; failure to vote on the amendment counts as a no vote.

There are 10 candidates for president/vice president on Tuesday’s ballot, including incumbent President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden on the Democratic ticket and Republican challengers Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan for president/vice president.

The president/vice president ballot also includes Gary Johnson and Jim Gray, Libertarian Party; James Harris and Maura Deluca, Socialist Workers Party; Virgil Goode and Jim Clymer, Constitution Party; Dean Morstad and Josh Franke-Hyland, Constitutional Government; Jill Stein and Cheri Honkala, Green Party; Jim Carlson and George McMahon, Grassroots Party; Peta Lindsay and Yari Osorio, Socialism and Liberation; and Ross C. “Rocky” Anderson and Luis J. Rodriguez, Justice Party.

The Minnesota U.S. Senate race has five candidates in the field.

Incumbent DFLer Amy Klobuchar is challenged by Republican Kurt Bills as well as Stephen Williams, Independence Party; Tim Davis, Grassroots Party; and Michael Cavlan, Minnesota Open Progressives.

Anoka County has three U.S. House districts – 3, 5 and 6.

The majority of Anoka County lies within the 6th Congressional District where incumbent Republican Rep. Michele Bachmann is opposed by Jim Graves, DFL.

Democrat Brian Barnes is challenging incumbent Republican Rep. Erik Paulsen in the 3rd Congressional District which includes all of the city of Coon Rapids as well as most of suburban Hennepin County.

The 5th Congressional District where incumbent Democrat Keith Ellison is opposed by Republican Chris Fields covers the southern Anoka County communities of Columbia Heights, Fridley, Hilltop and Spring Lake Park as well as the city of Minneapolis.

The entire Minnesota Legislature is on the ballot Tuesday as a result of redistricting, which followed the 2010 U.S. Census.

Senate and House races in the ABC Newspapers coverage area are:

Minnesota Senate

• Senate District 31: Incumbent Michelle Benson (GOP), Ham Lake, is challenged by Mike Starr, (DFL), Oak Grove. In Anoka County, the district includes East Bethel, Bethel, Ham Lake, Oak Grove, St. Francis, Nowthen, Columbus, Linwood and parts of Andover.

• Senate District 35: An open seat created by redistricting in which Rep. Branden Petersen (GOP), Andover, takes on DFLer Peter Perovich, Ramsey. The district covers Anoka and Ramsey and parts of Andover and Coon Rapids.

• Senate District 36: Incumbent Republican Benjamin Kruse, Brooklyn Park, is opposed by DFLer John Hoffman, Champlin. The district includes part of Coon Rapids, as well as Brooklyn Park, Champlin and Dayton in Hennepin County.

• Senate District 37: Pam Wolf, Spring Lake Park, the Republican incumbent, has been challenged by DFLer Alice Johnson, Spring Lake Park, a former state representative. The district encompasses parts of Blaine, Coon Rapids and Spring Lake Park.

• Senate District 38: Incumbent Republican Roger Chamberlain, Lino Lakes, is opposed by Timothy Henderson, Lino Lakes. The district in Anoka County includes part of Blaine as well as Centerville, Circle Pines, Lino Lakes and Lexington.

Minnesota House

• House District 31A: Republican incumbent Kurt Daudt, Zimmerman, is challenged by DFLer Ryan Fiereck, Bethel. In Anoka County, the district covers Nowthen, St. Francis, Bethel and part of Oak Grove.

• House District 31B: Tom Hackbarth, Cedar, the incumbent Republican, has opposition from Louise Woodberry (DFL), Oak Grove. The district encompasses East Bethel, Ham Lake, Linwood, Columbus and parts of Oak Grove and Andover.

• House District 35A: Republican incumbent Jim Abeler, Anoka, is opposed by two candidates – Andy Hillebregt (DFL), Ramsey, and Justin Boals (Independence Party), Anoka. The district includes Anoka and Ramsey.

• House District 35B: Pam Scott, the incumbent Republican from Andover, will face DFLer Sam Scott, Andover. The district covers parts of Andover and Coon Rapids.

• House District 36A: With DFL Rep. Denise Dittrich retiring, this is an open seat that has Champlin Mayor Mark Uglem (GOP) on the ballot with DFLer Grace Baltich. Part of Coon Rapids represents Anoka County in the district, which also includes the Hennepin County communities of Champlin and Dayton.

• House District 36B: There are three candidates on the ballot – DFL incumbent Melissa Hortman, Brooklyn Park; Andrew Kratoska, Independence Party from Brooklyn Park; and Andrew Reinhardt, Republican from Brooklyn Park, who ran against Hortman two years ago. Part of Coon Rapids is in this district along with Brooklyn Park.

• House District 37A: A new House district with no incumbent created by redistricting has Republican Mandy Benz, Coon Rapids, running against Jerry Newton, a former state representative from Coon Rapids. The district encompasses parts of Blaine, Coon Rapids and Spring Lake Park.

• House District 37B: Incumbent Republican Tim Sanders, Blaine, faces a challenge from DFLer Jon Chlebeck, Blaine. The district includes most of Blaine.

• House District 38A: Linda Runbeck, the Republican incumbent from Circle Pines, is opposed by Patrick Davern, Lino Lakes. The district includes part of Blaine plus Centerville, Circle Pines, Lino Lakes and Lexington.

Judicial offices will also be on Tuesday’s general election ballot – Minnesota Supreme Court, Minnesota Court of Appeals and the 10th Judicial District, which includes Anoka County.

The three Minnesota Supreme Court justices up for election all have opposition.

Chief Justice Lorie Skjerven Gildea is challenged by Dan Griffith, Justice Barry Anderson by Dean Barkley and Justice David Stras by Tim Tingelstad.

However, the two Minnesota Court of Appeals judges on the ballot – Renee Worke and Jill Flaskamp Halbrooks – have no opposition, nor do any of the judges from the 10th Judicial District seeking elections.

They are P. Hunter Anderson, Daniel A. O’Fallon, James E. Dehn, Kathleen A. Mottl, Dyanna L. Street, Elizabeth (Betsy) H. Martin, Todd Schoffelman, Sharon L. Hall, Bethany A. Fountain Lindberg, Sean C. Gibbs and Mary Yunker.

Peter Bodley is at [email protected]

Comments Closed