Six county board seats are up for grabs

Six of the seven Anoka County Board seats will be on the general election ballot Tuesday, Nov. 6. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

That’s the result of the redistricting of the boundaries of county commissioner districts that was approved by the county board May 1 following the 2010 U.S. Census.

Only three of the county commissioner districts had been scheduled for the ballot this year – districts 5, 6 and 7.

But because of a gain or loss of 5 percent or more of the average district population, redistricting has meant that districts 1, 2 and 3, which were all on the ballot two years ago in 2010 will all have contests again this year.

Only District 6, where County Commissioner Jim Kordiak was re-elected two years ago, won’t be on the ballot Tuesday.

But with redistricting, two of the seats will be back on the ballot in 2014 with a two-year term, instead of the four-year terms for the other seats. They are districts 5 and 7.

Candidates are (in alphabetical order):

• District 1: Incumbent Matt Look, Ramsey, faces Allison Lister, Oak Grove, former Anoka County veterans service officer. The district includes all of Ramsey, Oak Grove, St. Francis, Nowthen and part of Anoka.

• District 2: Incumbent Andy Westerberg, Blaine, is challenged by Julie Braastad, Ham Lake City Council member. The district includes all of Ham Lake, East Bethel and Bethel as well as parts of Andover and Blaine.

• District 3: Incumbent Robyn West, Blaine, has opposition from Dan Sanders, Blaine, in a district that includes most of Blaine and part of Spring Lake Park.

• District 5: Incumbent Carol LeDoux, Coon Rapids, has been challenged by Scott Bromley, Coon Rapids, who serves on the Coon Creek Watershed District. The district encompasses southern Andover, the part of Coon Rapids east of Hanson Boulevard and one precinct in northern Fridley.

• District 6: Incumbent Rhonda Sivarajah, Lino Lakes, is opposed by Kevin Ryan, Linwood Township, in a rematch from four years ago. The district includes Centerville, Circle Pines, Lino Lakes, Lexington, Columbus and Linwood and the eastern part of Blaine.

• District 7: Incumbent Dan Erhart, Coon Rapids, has opposition from Scott Schulte, a Coon Rapids City Council member. The district covers Coon Rapids generally west of Hanson Boulevard, as well as parts of Anoka and Andover.

Comments Closed