No change for Anoka City Council

There will be no change on the Anoka City Council following Tuesday’s election.

Mayor Phil Rice
Mayor Phil Rice

All three incumbents easily won their races for their respective seats in an election that returned Mayor Phil Rice and Councilmembers Mark Freeburg and Steve Schmidt to elected office.

Rice won 65 percent of the vote, defeating challenger Barbara Deeds Baldwin.

This will be Rice’s third term as mayor. He was elected to the position in 2008 after serving as a member of the council.

Freeburg and Schmidt took nearly equal shares of support for city council, garnering 31 and 30 percent of the vote, respectively. They were followed by challengers Pat Walker with 21 percent of the vote and Frank Bodine with 17 percent.

Freeburg is the longest serving member of the current council. He was first elected to office in 1997. This will be Schmidt’s second term as a member of the council. He was first elected in 2008.

Mandy Moran Froemming is at [email protected]





  • chris A.

    I’m sorry pat walker did not win. He truly is ” A common man with common sense”. I hope you run next time pat you will get my vote.