Nowthen voters select mayor, two councilmembers

Nowthen voters re-elected the city’s mayor and selected two new councilmembers in Tuesday’s general election.

Mayor Bill Schulz was the top vote-getter with 1,347 votes. Challengers Randy Bettinger received 828 votes and Matt Lendt 199 votes. There were 18 write-in votes.

Schulz has served as Nowthen’s mayor since the city’s incorporation.

Mary Rainville
Mary Rainville

The two new councilmembers are Mary Rainville, who got 1,240 votes, and Jim Scheffler, who received 851 votes.

Council candidates Dale Gene Ames received 663 votes, Robert Mahutga 548 votes, Paul Reighard 436 votes and there were 25 write-in votes.

Rainville has lived in Nowthen since 2004 and currently serves on the planning and zoning commission. She has also served on the Nowthen Heritage Festival Executive Board and is vice president of the Nowthen Lions.

Scheffler is a 16-year Nowthen resident and serves on the planning and zoning commission. He was also a Burns Township supervisor prior to incorporation.

Rainville and Scheffler will take over for Councilmember Laurie Olmon, who did not run for re-election, and Orval Leistico, whose seat was declared vacant in October because he had been unable to attend meetings since June due to health reasons.

Both Rainville and Scheffler will be sworn in to office in January 2013.

Kelly Johnson is at [email protected]