St. Francis selects incumbents, two newcomers for the council

Jerry Tveit
Jerry Tveit

By the time the polls closed Tuesday, St. Francis voters has selected two incumbents and two new members to the city council.

Mayor Jerry Tveit won a third term with 61.19 percent of the vote.

Opponent William Gardner earned 1,178 votes.

For the two four-year council seats, voters selected Tim Brown with 1,210 votes and Mike Haggard with 1,199 votes.

Amy Lazere
Amy Lazere

Coming in third was incumbent Jeff Sandoval with 22.6 percent of the vote, 990 votes. Richard Orpen received 21.42 percent of the vote, 938 votes.

For the two-year council seat, voters overwhelming elected Amy Lazere with 1,386 votes.

Competitors Dan Sherburne receive 678 votes and Jesse James Jones received 589 votes.

Lazere will be completing the remaining half of the term of a council seat left vacant by LeRoy Schaffer’s resignation in July 2011.

She is the first female candidate to run and be elected to the council since the early 1990s, according to City Clerk Barb Held.

Tammy Sakry is at [email protected]

Comments Closed