Locals nominated for top teacher award

The 2013 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be chosen from a field of 135 candidates.

They include Ross Eichele, John Keran, Amy Reed and Renee Voltin from Anoka-Hennepin School District 11 and Laura Pena-Kennedy from Spring Lake Park School District 16.

These candidates have accepted their nominations and completed the required materials to become eligible for the honor. The number of candidates is the highest for the Teacher of the Year program since 2005.

This year’s program will name the 49th Minnesota Teacher of the Year. Candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade teachers from public or private schools.

The 2013 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced Sunday, May 5, at the Marriott Minneapolis Northwest in Brooklyn Park.

Over the coming weeks, a 25-member panel of community leaders will name a group of semifinalists and then finalists.

Organized and underwritten by Education Minnesota, the Minnesota Teacher of the Year program receives support from Education Minnesota ESI, The Harvard Club of Minnesota Foundation, McDonald’s Restaurants of Minnesota, Marriott Minneapolis Northwest, Pearson Education, The SMARTer Kids Foundation, TruStone Financial and United Educators Credit Union.