State individual wrestling individual results

Coon Rapids senior heavyweight Michael Burckhardt opened the Class AAA Individual state tournament with a pin of Rocori’s Tyler Hoffman in 29 seconds.  Burckhardt, top-ranked faces St. Cloud Tech’s fourth-ranked Jerrad Nieland (32-4) in the semifinals.

Anoka junior 152-pounder Brandon Krone (38-4) won his opener at  with a 4-1 score over eighth-ranked Eden Prairie senior Matt Gribben (31-9). Krone, ranked fourth in Class AAA faces Henry Sibley sophomore Garrett Beaman (36-8) in the quarterfinal.

Tornadoes sophomore Matt Njos (35-11) scored a 7-1 decision against Stillwater senior Sebastian Dingle (28-14) in the Class AAA 182-pound opener. Njos faces Lakeville North’s eighth-ranked sophomore Tristyn Hanson (34-5) in the quarterfinals. Hanson scored a 9-1 win against Willmar’s Augustine Hahn in the first round.

Andover junior Corey Parsons moved within one win of a 40-win season with a 5-4 decision over Mound-Westonka junior Bryan Tierney (36-7) in the 170-pound quarterfinals. Parsons faces the only non-ranked wrestler left in the bracket – Chaska senior Ethan Loosbrock (31-2) in the quarterfinals after the Hawks wrestler scored a pin against Park Center’s Rico Lester in the opening round.

Coon Rapids freshman Josh Bryant (31-15) and senior Nate Juhlkowski didn’t experience the same success as both dropped opening matches. Bryant, ranked eighth lost to Maple Grove’s seventh-ranked Brad Osatiuk (36-5) by a 7-0 score at 106 pounds. Juhlkowski (28-17) dropped a 3-0 loss to fourth-ranked Albert Lea senior Lucas Hansen (38-4).

Spring Lake Park/St. Anthony freshman Danny Chlebeck (33-6) came up short in a 2-1 score against Farmington freshman Jamin LeDuc (33-2) in the 113-pound first-round.

St. Francis senior Conan Sandberg (36-9) was stopped in the 220-pound opener by fifth-ranked Centennial senior Andrew Gustafson by a pin at 5:19 of the match.

Comments Closed