Word of Life Church celebrates 50 years in Coon Rapids

The Chancellors Quartet will be help Word of Life Church, Coon Rapids, culminate its 50th jubilee celebration weekend, May 4 and 5, by presenting a free concert in the church sanctuary.

The Chancellors Quartet will perform as part of the Word of Life 50th jubilee celebration this weekend.Photo submitted
The Chancellors Quartet will perform as part of the Word of Life 50th jubilee celebration this weekend.Photo submitted

The concert is at 7 p.m. on Sunday, May 5. Seating is limited so come early.

The Chancellors Quartet has been singing southern Gospel favorites throughout the United States and much of Canada since 1970.

After more than a decade of full-time touring which included numerous radio and television appearances, the group transitioned into a part-time ministry, singing on weekends and at special events such as this jubilee celebration for the church.

The quartet members are Jeff Lindstrom, tenor; Chris Fish, baritone; Mike McCowen, bass; and Ian Lindsay, lead.

Word of Life Church had its beginnings in the spring of 1962 as a Bible study in the home of Mr. and Mrs. Martin Paulat.

The leadership of Martin Paulat helped the group outgrow their home and in July 1963 Sunday evening services were started in a neighboring Lutheran church.

A few weeks later in August 1963, Sunday school and morning worship services began at Morris Bye Elementary School.

It was in October 1963 that the current location, 10730 University Ave. N.W., Coon Rapids, was purchased.

Word of Life Church was organized as a church of the Christian and Missionary Alliance on May 22, 1964 in the home of Mr. and Mrs. Stan Dvorak.

Ground breaking ceremonies were held in August 1964 and construction was started on the first unit of the church in September 1964 and completed around January 1965; however, services were conducted in the basement for Christmas in December 1964.

The basement of the current sanctuary was constructed between September 1975 and Easter Sunday 1976.

The final unit of the current church building was approved and construction commenced on it during November 1986.

The first service in the new sanctuary took place Oct. 4, 1987, one year from the day of the ground breaking ceremony.

Starting with its beginning the church has been shepherded by nine pastors and is currently spiritually led by Rev. Dr. Orville Hieb, who has held the position for over 25 years.

Comments Closed