Local grads on Bemidji State Student Athlete Advisory Committee

The Bemidji State University Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), which represents each of Bemidji State’s 15 varsity intercollegiate athletic programs, has 28 members for the 2012-2013 season.

Mackenzie Haupert of Andover, a junior studying exercise science, serves as president for the SAAC. Haupert competes on the track and cross country teams at Bemidji.

Secretary on the SAAC is Emily Paquin of Coon Rapids, a sophomore studying biology at Bemidji. Paquin also competes on the Bemidji track and cross country teams.

Members of the advisory committee represent the interests of the university’s student athletes to athletic staff and university administration. Committees on individual campuses are also part of a larger network of committees, including conference- and national-level student-athlete advisory committees, which interact with and support one another to shape intercollegiate athletics policy and enhance the student-athlete experience.

In addition, Bemidji State’s committee organizes community service and other student-athlete involvement projects each year to connect Beaver student-athletes with the Bemidji community.

Comments Closed