Achievement in education

Birkebak graduates

Vishal T. Birkebak was among the 105 cadets from statewide Civil Air Patrol Squadrons who participated in this year’s Minnesota Wing Encampment at Camp Ripley Military Reservation. Birkebak, airman first class of the Anoka Squadron, graduated from the wing’s basic encampment June 30. Cadets learn the skills it takes to make it through the Civil Air Patrol cadet program, including drill, uniform care, discipline and teamwork.


Concordia scholarships

Elizabeth Hiller of Ramsey is the recipient of presidential distinction and music performance scholarships from Concordia College, Moorhead. Hiller, a June 2013 graduate of Anoka High School, is the daughter of Peter and Mary Hiller.

Mikayla Tiffany of Anoka was also awarded a Presidential Distinction Scholarship at Concordia. She is the daughter of David Barnish and Sandra Tiffany.


Scholarship for Anderson

Clay Anderson has been awarded the Luther Scholarship at Bethany Lutheran College, valued at $26,000 over four years, based on high school GPA and national standardized test scores. Anderson is a 2013 graduate of Anoka High School.


Larson inducted into honor society

Kaia Larson of Ramsey, a graduate of Legacy Christian Academy, has been inducted into the Xi Xi chamber of Lambda Pi Eta, the National Communication Association’s honor society. Larson attends Northwestern College.


MCAD graduates

Theo Hinrichs of Anoka has graduated from the Minneapolis College of Art and Design with a bachelor of fine arts degree in animation. He is the son of Karolyn and Matthew Hinrichs.

Megan Leitschuh has also graduated from MCAD with a bachelor of arts degree in illustration. She grew up in Andover and is the daughter of Debra and Chris Leitschuh.


Dean’s list for Verke

Brent Verke has been named to the spring semester dean’s list at Itasca Community College. Verke had a 4.0 GPA.


Comcast scholarships

Three Anoka-Hennepin seniors will have $1,000 more for college in the fall thanks to Comcast.

Malcom Seals of Anoka High School, Whitney Nietz of Blaine High School and Cayla Callies of Coon Rapids High School received the Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship program prizes during a ceremony June 20. The program recognizes students who serve as models for their fellow students.

Comments Closed