Six file for three seats on Anoka-Hennepin School Board

Six people have filed for three Anoka-Hennepin School Board seats up for election Nov. 5: Districts 3, 4 and 6.

There will be contests for two of the three seats at the Tuesday, Nov. 5 general election.

Those seats are currently held by Bill Harvey (District 3, which includes Champlin and the portions of Dayton within the district plus the northwest section of Coon Rapids); Michael Sullivan (District 4, which includes the portions of Nowthen, Ham Lake and Oak Grove located within the district plus a large share of Andover and the northeastern section of Ramsey); and Jeff Simon (District 6, which includes northern Coon Rapids and southern Andover).

Harvey, who was appointed in January to the District 3 seat after John Hoffman was elected to the Minnesota Senate last November, has filed for election.

Simon, who was appointed to the District 6 seat in July 2012 after Kathy Tingelstad resigned, has also filed for election.

Sullivan has served a number of terms for District 4, but announced that he would not seek re-election.

When filings closed at 5 p.m. Aug. 13, the following candidates had thrown their hats in the ring for each of the four-year terms:

• District 3: Grace Baltich, 11711 Douglas Dr. N, Champlin; and Harvey, 8108 109th Place N, Champlin.

• District 4: William Fields, 17178 Argon St. NW, Andover; Janelle Kirkeide, 2152 158th Lane NE, Ham Lake; and Paul Meunier, 3020 160th Lane NE, Ham Lake.

• District 6: Simon, 12252 Thrush St. NW, Coon Rapids, is unopposed.

For information about voter registration or the election process, contact the Anoka County Elections Office at [email protected] or call 763-323-5275.

Sue Austreng is at [email protected]