Fields will join Anoka-Hennepin School Board

The Anoka-Hennepin District 11 School Board has one new and two returning members after the Nov. 5 election.

William Fields
William Fields

William Fields of Andover will join the six-person school board in January 2014. Bill Harvey of Champlin and Jeff Simon of Coon Rapids will maintain their seats.

Fields beat Paul Meunier and Janelle Kirkeide, both of Ham Lake, with 53 percent of the vote Tuesday. Meunier came in second, collecting 36 percent of the total vote.

Fields will represent District 4, which includes portions of Ham Lake, Nowthen and Oak Grove, a large part of Andover and the northeastern section of Ramsey.

He succeeds Michael Sullivan, who did not run for re-election after 25 years on the school board.

A father of four, Fields works as a group manager for the Air National Guard.

Harvey triumphed against Grace Baltich, also of Champlin, earning nearly 61 percent of the vote to her 39 percent.

Appointed to the board in January, when John Hoffman was elected to the Minnesota State Senate, Harvey will continue to represent District 3 – Champlin, portions of Dayton and the northwest portion of Coon Rapids.

Simon will remain District 6’s representative, serving the southern part of Andover and northern part of Coon Rapids.

He was also appointed to the board. He assumed duties in July 2012 when Kathy Tingelstad resigned.

Simon ran unopposed in this election.

There were 5,610 votes cast in the school board races Tuesday, though more than 133,000 voters are registered in the district.

The Anoka-Hennepin School Board has the special task of hiring a new superintendent next year.

Olivia Koester is at [email protected]