Anoka council makes board, commission appointments for 2014

The Anoka City Council earlier this month made its annual appointments to the city’s boards and commissions as many terms are set to expire at the end of the year.

The long list of appointments included elections for spots on the Housing and Redevelopment Authority, the Parks and Recreation Advisory Board and the Waste Reduction and Recycling Board, because the number of applicants exceeded the available openings.

Mayor Phil Rice said the volunteer members of these boards and commissions provide the city with “hours and hours” of service.

“These commissions do the heavy lifting, the work and the background, pose the arguments and work it back and forth until they come to us with a recommended action. We certainly appreciate all of the time and effort,” he said.

The council reappointed Carl Youngquist to the Housing and Redevelopment Authority along with David Bonthuis, who will join the authority in January. Pat Walkers’s term with the HRA will expire at the end of the year. Walker did reapply for the position.

On the Parks and Recreation Advisory Board, the council reappointed Joseph Anderla, David Throne and David Steinbring.

Marijo Hain and Vicki Violet were also reappointed to the Waste Reduction and Recycling Board.

Borgie Bonthuis and Don Kjonaas were reappointed to the Planning Commission. Mark Jensen’s term is set to expire and he did not reapply. The council appointed new applicant Sandy Herrala to the upcoming vacancy.

Jessica Thunder and Dr. Gene Dvoracek will return to the Economic Development Commission. Member Barbara Deeds Baldwin opted not to reapply to stay on the commission when her term finishes this month. Justin Boals was appointed to the vacancy.

The Parking Advisory Board will see the return of members Jim Batters, Pete Turok and Bob Weil.

Sue Dilcher was appointed to serve a three-year term on the Human Rights Commission, which also has two vacancies.

Timothy Nigh and Bart Ward will each serve another three-year term on the Heritage Preservation Commission. Bonthuis, who will join the HRA in January, will leave his seat with the HPC at the end of the year. Newcomer Corey Rahn was appointed to the vacancy.

Gary Semmel and Dennis Taylor were reappointed to the Utility Advisory Board, leaving one vacancy on that particular board.

There is also a vacancy on the city’s charter commission, which meets once a year.

Rice thanked those who have spend a number of years serving on various boards and commissions and encouraged people to apply for the four vacancies citywide.

Mandy Moran Froemming is at [email protected]

  • Pat Walker

    The old adage “The squeaky wheel always gets the grease” is not true. Sometimes it gets replaced. After six years on the Anoka HRA, the council appointed someone who shared their vision.