Spring Lake Park High School boasts four National AP Scholars

Four Spring Lake Park High School graduates are National AP Scholars for 2013.

Jocelyn Bayer, 2013 National AP Scholar
Jocelyn Bayer, 2013 National AP Scholar

The National College Board named Jocelyn Bayer, Bobni Das, Sara Halimah and Mariam Suri recipients for their work in Advanced Placement classes throughout their high school careers.

All four students graduated in 2013.

To earn the National AP Scholar distinction, a student must take eight AP courses, scoring four or higher on each examination. The highest possible score is five.

Many colleges and universities grant academic credit when students score three or higher.

This year, Spring Lake Park offers 11 AP classes, courses that are designed to emulate the rigor students encounter in post-secondary learning environments.

Four National AP Scholars is on par for the high school, according to Marianne Paulos, AP coordinator at SLP. Last year, the school had five, including Das, Paulos said.

The school boasts 52 AP award winners in total. Bayer, Das, Halimah and Suri won the top award.

AP Scholar with Distinction recognition is given to students who earn an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams and scores of 3 or higher on at least five exams.

The four National AP Scholars, as well as Andy Dang, Sarah Fetter, Matthew Fruzyna, Michele Heggerston, Andrew Johnson, Madeline Lee, Herbert Lohse, Vi Nguyen and Austin Swenson, received this honor.

Students who earn an average score of 3.25 and scores of 3 or higher on at least four examinations are AP Scholars with Honor. In 2013, those students are Gabriel Bensaad-Johnson, Madisen Dempsey, Scott Erdman, Christopher Falken, Derek Hartman, Anam Hasan, Katelyn Hoff, Daniel Kanani, Nolan Kelley, Rachel Klesk, Alison LeVahn, David Lewandowski, Lauren Putnam, Anisa Sharif and Christina Wakeman.

The AP Scholar Award is offered to students who receive at least three scores of 3. Izack Angerhofer, Joshua Bayer, Monica Brown, Eveline Ellenbecker, Michael Johnson, Taylor Kaiser, William Kaiser, Calvin Kettering, Jeremiah LaBelle, Amber Latham, Kylee Mattson, Asha Mishra, Steven Nemerov, Henry Ohren, Adam Olson, Jacob Provart, Zachary Resch, Hannah Robinson, Kellen Roeske, Billianne Schultz, Brandon Tam, David Tran, Hallie Vanney and Betanya Zewde are AP Scholars.

Olivia Koester is at
[email protected]

Jocelyn Bayer, 2013 National AP Scholar Bobni Das, 2013 National AP Scholar Sara Halimah, 2013 National AP Scholar Mariam Suri, 2013 National AP Scholar
Jocelyn Bayer, 2013 National AP Scholar