Savage Umbrella stages workshop at Banfill-Locke

Savage Umbrella Theater presents its workshop session of “These Are the Men” at 2 p.m. May 4 at Banfill-Locke Center for the Arts.

During the workshop, audience members have the opportunity to help the Savage Umbrella company of players create the final rendition of the production.

A re-imagining of the Oedipus myth, “These Are the Men” examines  the love, hope and beauty hidden in the darkness of one of ancient Greece’s greatest tragedies.

As play’s first scene opens, the blossoming relationship of Oedipus and Jocasta is presented and workshop participants explore the intersection of time, fate and freewill. Is ignorance of the past (and future) truly bliss?

The story is told from Jocasta’s point of view, who, borrowing ideas from eternalism, experiences time as a constant. She knows and lives her past, present and future simultaneously.

“Knowing all of her past and future – how will she contend with the fate she knows is coming?” said creator and director Blake E. Bolan. “How does she interact with Oedipus when they meet, if she knows the dark end in store for them both? I’m very interested in presenting these questions to the audience and getting feedback as we continue to create the show.”

Banfill-Locke Center for the Arts is located at 6666 E. River Road, Fridley.

Tickets for the presentation are a suggested donation of $5-$10 at the door, but advanced reservations are suggested; go to to reserve a spot.

For more information, call 763-574-1850, email [email protected], find the Center for the Arts on Facebook, follow BanfillLockeArt on Twitter or visit

‘These Are the Men’

Created and directed by Blake E. Bolan*

Written by Bolan and Laura Leffler-McCabe*

Production managed by Mason Mahoney*

Sound design by Ted Moore

Featuring: Neal Beckman, Lisa Marie Brimmer, Megan Clark, Tanner Curl*, Joy Dolo Anfinson, Russ Dugger*, Emily Dussault, Eric Elefson, Kathryn Fumie, Joe Halvarson, Heidi Jedlicka Halvarson*, Theo Langason, Laura Leffler-McCabe*, Derek Lee Miller, Paul Rutledge, Siddeeqah Shabazz, and Gwethalyn Williams

*Savage Umbrella company member

Sue Austreng is at
[email protected]