Election filings close June 3

People interested in running for office in the 2014 general election have until Tuesday, June 3 to file for candidacy.

The two-week filing period opened Tuesday, May 20 for all local, state and federal offices that could require a primary election, which will be held Tuesday, August 12.

Filing for all municipal offices that do not require a primary will run from July 29 through Aug. 12.

Federal offices on the state election ballot this year are U.S. Senator for the seat held by Sen. Al Franken, along with all of the state’s U.S. Congressional House districts.

Districts 3, 5 and 6 cover parts of Anoka County.

U.S. Rep. Erik Paulson is the lone candidate to file in District 3, as is Rep. Keith Ellison in District 5.

In the 6th District where Rep. Michele Bachmann will not run for re-election, there may be a Republican primary. To date candidate Tom Emmer, who received the GOP endorsement in the district has filed, along with Joe Perske, who earned the DFL nomination last month, has also filed in the 6th District.

Although Rhonda Sivarajah and Phil Krinkie have both indicated in the past they would run in a Republican primary for the 6th District.

Minnesota House seats will also be up for election. Locally, this includes House districts 31A, 31B, 35A, 35B, 36A, 36B, 37A, 37B, 38A, 41A and 41B.

Candidates for three Anoka County Board seats will be on the ballot in 2014. To date incumbent Jim Kordiak is the lone candidate to file in District 4. District 5 will be a contested race,  with Mike Gamache, Debbie Johnson and Reid Oines vying in the primary for the seat currently held by Commissioner Carol LeDoux. At press time, Commissioner Scott Schulte was unopposed in District 7.

Anoka County Sheriff Jim Stuart and Anoka County Attorney Tony Palumbo have both filed for re-election. To date neither have any challengers.

City races

In Anoka, incumbent council members Carl Anderson and Jeff Weaver have filed for re-election and face no challengers as of early Wednesday morning, May 28. Both are four-year terms. Nobody has filed for the two-year mayor’s seat that Phil Rice currently occupies.

For the Blaine City Council, incumbent council members Wes Hovland and Dave Clark are seeking to represent Ward 1 and Ward 2 once again. Ben Deggendorf will challenge Clark. Nobody else has filed in Ward 1. Jason King and Karen Varian are seeking a four-year Ward 3 council member seat currently held by Kathy Kolb, who has not filed as of Wednesday morning.

Coon Rapids residents will have a new mayor and two new council members, which are all four-year terms, because Mayor Time Howe, Ward 3 Councilmember Paul Johnson and Ward 5 Councilmember Bruce Sanders have all decided to not run for re-election.

Ronald Bradley, Ron Manning, Phil Rosar and Ted Schmolke have filed for the mayor’s seat while Ethan Campbell has filed for Ward 3 council member. Nobody has entered their name for Ward 5.

In Ramsey, the four-year councilmember seats that are up for election this November are currently held by Randy Backous, At-large; Jill Johns, Ward 1; and Jason Tossey, Ward 3. As of Wednesday morning, Terry Hendriksen and Kristine Williams are seeking the at-large seat and nobody has filed for Ward 1 or Ward 3.

St. Francis has four of its five seats up for re-election this year, including a two-year mayor’s term, two four-year council member terms and another two-year council member term to fill the remaining term of Mike Haggard following his resignation.

Steve Kane is the only St. Francis resident who has filed for any of the four open seats. Kane, appointed to Haggard’s seat up until this special election, is seeking the mayor’s seat currently occupied by Jerry Tveit. The incumbents for the other two at-large council member seats are Amy Lazere and Chris McClish.

For up to date filing information go to www.candidates.sos.state.mn.us and search under candidate filing results.

Eric Hagen contributed to this report.

Mandy Moran Froemming is at [email protected]