The race is on for Aug. 12 primary elections

The first round of filings for election candidates closed Tuesday, June 2.

The two-week filing period opened Tuesday, May 20 for all local, state and federal offices that could require a primary election, which will be held Tuesday, August 12.

Candidates had until Thursday, June 5 at 5 p.m. to withdraw.

Filing for all municipal offices that do not require a primary will run from July 29 through Aug. 12.

Federal offices on the election ballot this year are U.S. Senator for the seat held by Sen. Al Franken, along with all of the state’s U.S. Congressional House districts.

Along with Franken, DFL’er Sandra Henningsgard has filed for candidacy for the U.S. Senate seat along with Republicans Mike McFadden (who received the endorsement), Jim Abeler, David Carlson, Patrick D. Munro, Julianne Ortmann and O. Savior. Tom Brooks, Steve Carlson, Jack Shephard, Kevin Terrell and Stephen Williams will run in the primary for the Independence Party.

Congressional Districts 3, 5 and 6 cover parts of Anoka County.

U.S. Rep. Erik Paulson will go up against Sharon Sund (DFL) in the general election for District 3. Rep. Keith Ellison is being challenged in a DFL primary for District 5 by William P. Brownell. Also filing in District 5 are Republican Doug Daggett and Independence Party candidate Lee Bauer.

In the 6th District where Rep. Michele Bachmann will not run for re-election, there will be a Republican primary. GOP-endorsed candidate Tom Emmer has filed along with Anoka County Board Chairwoman Rhonda Sivarajah. The winner of that contest will face off in the election against Joe Perske, who earned the DFL nomination last month, and John Denney of the Independence Party.

Minnesota House seats will also be up for election. Locally, this includes House districts 31A, 31B, 35A, 35B, 36A, 36B, 37A, 37B, 38A, 41A and 41B.

The only seat set for a primary race is 35A, where voters will choose between Republicans Abigail Whelan, endorsed earlier this year, and Justin Boals. The winner will go up against DFLer Peter Perovich.

Other House district candidates include: 31A, Kurt Daudt (Republican); 31B, Tom Hackbarth (Republican) and JD Holmquist (DFL); 35B, Peggy Scott (Republican) and Sam Beard (DFL); 36A, Mark Uglem (Republican) and Jefferson Fietek (DFL); 35B, Peter Crema (Republican) and Melissa Hortman (DFL); 37A, Mandy Benz (Republican) and Jerry Newton (DFL); 37B Tim Sanders (Republican) and Susan Witt (DFL); 38A, Linda Runbeck (Republican) and Pat Davern (DFL); 41A, Jeff Phillips (Republican) and Connie Bernardy (DFL); 41B, Camden Pike (Republican) and Carolyn Laine (DFL).

Candidates for three Anoka County Board seats will be on the ballot in 2014. Commissioner Jim Kordiak in District 4 and Commissioner Scott Schulte in District 7 will run unopposed.

District 5 will be a contested race,  with Mike Gamache, Debbie Johnson and Reid Oines vying in the primary for the seat currently held by Commissioner Carol LeDoux, who is not running for re-election.

Anoka County Sheriff James Stuart and Anoka County Attorney Tony Palumbo will both run unopposed.

Nick Proulx and Karl Tingelstad have both filed to run for the Anoka Conservation District soil and water supervisor seat in District 3. Mary Jo Truchon will run in District 4 unopposed.

City races

Coon Rapids voters will have the most to decide on in the Aug. 12 primary election.

With incumbent mayor Tim Howe and council members Paul Johnson (Ward 3) and Bruce Sanders (Ward 5) long ago announcing they would not seek another term, a flood of candidates filed their affidavits of candidacy between May 20 and June 3. There are enough candidates for each open seat to require a primary.

Seven people are vying to be the next mayor of Coon Rapids. They are Ronald R. Bradley, Jerry Koch, Ron Manning, Jerry Pierce, Phil Rosar, Ted Schmolke, and Eric Sykes.

The Coon Rapids Ward 3 seat drew the interest of Ethan Campbell, Wade Demmer, Scott C. Nellis, Alan Williams and Ethan S. Yang.

Travis Johansen, Brad Johnson, and Valerie A. Weaver are seeking the Ward 5 seat.

There will not be a primary election for the two four-year Anoka council member seats. Incumbents Carl Anderson and Jeff Weaver will face off against Pat Walker in the general election.

Phil Rice is unopposed for the two-year Anoka mayor’s term.

Blaine Councilmember Kathy Kolb decided not to seek a fifth consecutive Ward 3 term. Jason King, Matthew Knutson and Karen Varian will be on the ballot this November.

“Many of the reasons I ran in the first place have become realities like preserving open space, making the city a good place for established and new business, improving transportation by creating multimodal choices, making sure that all residents have a voice, and that Blaine is a city that has many opportunities for all residents,” Kolb said.

While a primary is required in Blaine’s Ward 3, it is not required in the other two races because there are no challengers to incumbent Wes Hovland in Ward 1. Incumbent Dave Clark will go against Ben Deggendorf in Ward 2.

In Ramsey, three four-year council member seats are up for grabs.

Wayne Buchholz, Terry Hendriksen, Thomas J. Towberman, and Kristine Williams are seeking the at-large seat currently held by Randy Backous, who decided to not seek re-election after serving one term. This will be only Ramsey race included in the Aug. 12 primary election.

Jill Johns is running unopposed in Ward 1. Johns was elected in July 2013 to fill the remaining year-and-a-half of the four-year term that David Elvig had been elected to, prior to his resignation.

Jason Tossey is not seeking re-election to the Ward 3 council member seat that he has held for one-term. Frank E. Howsmon V and Melody (Hesselgrave) Shryock will face off in the general election for this seat.

St. Francis has the most open seats of any municipal race with four of five seats available, but not enough candidates to require any primary election vote.

Unless a write-in candidate overtakes him, Steve Kane will be the next mayor of St. Francis. The current St. Francis council member is the only one who filled out an affidavit of candidacy for this two-year seat. Mayor Jerry Tveit decided not to run for re-election after having served in this role for two terms.

Chris McClish and Rich Skordahl also may have a clear path to the two four-year at-large seats because nobody else filed. McClish is an incumbent.

The other four-year seat was occupied by three people over the past four years. LeRoy Schaffer was elected in November 2010. After resigning in July 2011 after filing a false police report, Tim Brown was appointed to Schaffer’s seat. Instead of seeking the remaining two years on this seat in 2012, Brown sought a full four-year term. Amy Lazere was voted to fill the remaining two years. She decided not to run for re-election this year.

The four-year seat Brown sought was won by Mike Haggard in 2012. Haggard resigned in December 2013 after his residency was questioned. Kane was appointed to this seat up until the remaining two-year seat could be put on the ballot in 2014.

With Kane seeking the mayor’s seat, that leaves an opening for this two-year at-large seat. Richard Orpen is seeking this seat. Trent Blake had filed his name, but withdrew before the 5 p.m. Thursday, June 5 deadline, according to records on the Secretary of State’s website.

Mandy Moran Froemming contributed to this report.

Eric Hagen is at [email protected]