Filing for five local races opens Tuesday

Residents in the cities of Andover, East Bethel, Ham Lake, Nowthen and Oak Grove who want to represent their neighbors on their respective city councils will be able to sign up between Tuesday, July 29 and Aug. 12 to include their name on the ballot.

The following is a summary of what seats are up for election, term lengths, where you can file an affidavit of candidacy and how much it costs. Regular office hours are listed, but the state requires all city halls to remain open until 5 p.m. the last day of filing on Tuesday, Aug. 12 to accept applications.

Any candidate may withdraw their name from the Nov. 4 ballot as long as they notify their respective city hall by the end of the business day Aug. 14.


Andover will have a new mayor because Mike Gamache is running for the Anoka County Commissioner District 5 seat. This term is two years.

The other two council member terms up for election are four years and are currently held by Tony Howard and Julie Trude. Howard was appointed by the council in September 2011 to fill a vacancy when Don Jacobson moved out of the community and he was elected to fill the remaining two years of this seat in the 2012 election.

Affidavits of candidacy must be filed at Andover City Hall, 1685 Crosstown Blvd. NW. The filing fee is $5. Regular office hours are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.
For more information, call Andover City Hall at 763-755-5100.

East Bethel

A two-year mayor’s seat held by Bob DeRoche and two four-year council member seats held by Tim Harrington and Heidi Moegerle will be on the ballot this fall.

On Election Day 2010, three out of five incumbent members of the East Bethel City Council were voted out. In January 2011, Richard Lawrence became the new mayor and the new council members were DeRoche and Moegerle. Lawrence subsequently was re-elected in 2012.

The council on a 3-1 vote Jan. 8 ousted Lawrence following allegations that he was no longer a resident of East Bethel and thus could not serve on the council. The council on the same vote margin appointed DeRoche as the new mayor.

Harrington was appointed to fill DeRoche’s vacant seat until it expired at the end of this year.

The filing fee for affidavits of candidacy is $5 and must be filed at East Bethel City Hall, 2241 221st Ave. NE.

East Bethel City Hall’s regular business hours are 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Contact East Bethel City Hall at 763-367-7840 if you have further questions.

Ham Lake

Three four-year seats are up for grabs in Ham Lake, including the mayor’s seat held by Mike Van Kirk, and two council member seats held by Jim Doyle and Al Parranto.

Parranto is the newest member of the council, having been appointed in February 2013 following former Ham Lake council member Julie Braastad being elected to the Anoka County Board.

The filing fee is $25. Ham Lake City Hall, 15544 Central Ave. NE, is regularly open 7 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Thursday and 7 a.m. to noon Friday.

For more information, call Ham Lake City Hall at 763-434-9555.


Nowthen residents will be voting on a mayor for a two-year seat and two four-year council member seats. The current incumbents are Mayor Bill Schulz and Councilmembers Harlan Meyer and Jeff Pilon.

Nowthen City Hall, 8188 199th Ave. NW, is regularly open from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday. The filing fee is $5.

For more information, call 763-441-1347.

Oak Grove

The city of Oak Grove will have three four-year seats on the Nov. 4 ballot, which are currently held by Mayor Mark Korin and Councilmembers Dan Denno and Mike Wylie.

Oak Grove City Hall, 19900 Nightingale St. NW, is regularly open 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. The filing fee is $2.

Call Oak Grove City Hall at 763-404-0700 if you have more questions.

Eric Hagen is at
[email protected]