Filings open for three Spring Lake Park council races

Tuesday, July 29, marks the start of a two-week filing period for three Spring Lake Park City Council seats.

The filing period ends at 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 12.

Seats occupied by Mayor Cindy Hansen, Councilmember Jeanne Mason and Councilmember Larry Raymond are up for election in November.

The mayor and council members serve staggered, four-year terms in the city. The council comprises one mayor and four council members.

Hansen and Mason began serving their current terms at the start of 2011, after the 2010 election. Raymond was appointed to the council when Dale Dahl, elected to his second term in 2010, resigned in early 2013 when he moved to Blaine.

Residents can file for office at Spring Lake Park City Hall, 1301 81st Ave. NE, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. during the filing period. The filing fee is $2.

Candidate information packets will be provided to residents upon filing.

Elections are held in November in even-numbered years.

Council meetings are held the first and third Monday of each month.

For more information, call the city at 763-784-6491.

Olivia Koester is at
[email protected]