SLP mayoral race will be uncontested

The filing period for Spring Lake Park City Council candidates closed Tuesday, Aug. 12, with an uncontested mayoral race and a four-way contest for two council member at large seats.

Mayor Cindy Hansen will run unopposed for re-election Nov. 4. She was elected as Spring Lake Park’s first female mayor in 2010.

Two council seats are also up for election this cycle.

Incumbents Jeanne Mason and Larry Raymond will run for re-election, and Dan Lambert and Kenneth Wendling, both Spring Lake Park Parks and Recreation commissioners, will throw their hats in the ring.

A week before filing closed, Mason said she wasn’t sure whether she would run for a ninth term. She was first elected to the council in 1982 and has served the city for more than 30 years.

Mason filed Tuesday and will vie to serve Spring Lake Park another four years.

Raymond was appointed to the council when Dale Dahl, elected to his second term in 2010, resigned in early 2013 when he moved to Blaine.

Lambert has served on the Spring Lake Park Parks and Recreation Commission since 2007. Previously, he sat on the Spring Lake Park Planning and Zoning Committee as well.

Wendling is in his second year as a Parks and Recreation commissioner, appointed to the commission in 2013.

The mayor and council members serve staggered, four-year terms in the city. The council comprises one mayor and four council members.

Elections are held in November in even-numbered years.

This year’s election will be held Nov. 4.

Olivia Koester is at [email protected]