Voters fill 5 St. Francis School Board seats

Staff Writer
Since 2013, I have primarily covered the Anoka-Hennepin and Spring Lake Park school districts as well as the city of Spring Lake Park for ABC Newspapers.

Voters selected Jill Anderson, Mike Starr, Sean Sullivan, Amy Kelly and Rob Schoenrock to fill five School Board seats Nov. 8.

According to preliminary results posted by the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State, Anderson locked up 46.52 percent of votes in the special election for the board seat previously held by David Roberts, who died unexpectedly in July. Lagging behind with 28.4 percent and 24.18 percent, respectively, were Peter Onstad and Scott Schwarz, a current board member. Anderson will begin serving on the board immediately and do so through 2018.

In the race for four four-year seats, Starr earned the highest percentage of the vote, 16.49. Sullivan followed with 11.9 percent, incumbent Kelly earned 11.40 percent and Schoenrock racked up 11.36 percent of the vote.

Meri Hass fell short of being elected with 10.24 percent of the vote landing her in fifth place.

Incumbents Suzanne Erkel and Janet Hunt, as well as Sarah Hunt, Alicia Johnson and Laura Waterworth, also ran unsuccessfully for School Board.

[email protected]