Panther coach, local players to compete in all-star football game

Seven Northwest Suburban Conference football players have been selected to play June 30 in the Minnesota high school all-star football game, a game showcasing outstanding senior players from the 2011 high school football season. The 39th annual all star game pits the North All-Stars against the South All-Stars.The North All-Stars team roster includes these local players:

• Defensive lineman DeQuan Mosley, Spring Lake Park

• Defensive back Anthony Hill, Champlin Park

• Defensive back Shaquille Theus, Coon Rapids

• Running back Josh Werness, Anoka

• Defensive lineman GJullian Flemister-King, Champlin Park

• Offensive lineman Kevin Olson, Andover

• Offensive lineman Kyle Griffin, Anoka

Jeff Schlieff, head football coach for Spring Lake Park High School, has been named head coach for the North All-Stars team, while Bill Ihrke of Plainview-Elgin-Millville will coach the South All-Stars team.

Players and coaches, selected by members of the Minnesota Football Coaches Association and representing 79 schools and 31 conferences throughout the state of Minnesota, will participate in the June 30 game at St. Cloud University’s Husky stadium. Kick off is set for 1 p.m.


All-star game history 

The 2012 all-star game will be the 39th in the current annual series and the 50th overall.

The Minnesota high school all-star football game was first played in 1945 and has been an annual event since 1974.

The game was played in a North versus South format from 1945 through 1979, a Metro versus Outstate format from 1980 to 2010 and back to a North versus South format in 2011.

For the second year and for the 19th time overall, the game will feature the North All-Stars versus the South All-Stars. In the 2011 game, North defeated South 17-7 at TCF Bank Stadium.

The North leads the current North-South series 1-0. The North leads the overall North-South series 9-8-1.

Through the years, over 3,900 players and 400 coaches have participated in this game. A total of 73 players from the Minnesota high school all-star football game have gone on to play or coach in the National Football League.

Tickets for the 2012 all-star football game will be available at the Husky Stadium gate June 30.

For more information, visit the Minnesota high school all-star football game website at

Sue Austreng is at [email protected]