Section True Tream track meet shows teams are on track for success

Section True Team track and field meets took center stage across the state May 7.

The top scoring boys and girls team from each of the eight sections earned the right to compete for a state True Team title at Hamline University May 17.

Blaine’s Courtney Purcell leads Alyssa Nebo in the 100-meter dash during the 21st annual Mega Meet.
Blaine’s Courtney Purcell leads Alyssa Nebo in the 100-meter dash during the 21st annual Mega Meet.       Photo by Bill Jones

Elk River girls and Champlin Park boys will represent Section 4 after clinching their respective titles at the meet hosted by Elk River May 7.

Anoka girls were edged out of the top spot by 13.5 points. Coon Rapids was fourth and Andover finshed sixth.

Champlin Park edged Andover for the boys’ section title by 11.5 points while Coon Rapids was fourth and Anoka was fifth in the nine-team field.

What makes the True Team format unique is that points are distributed to every finisher instead of only the top half. Emphasis is based more on a team’s depth in each event rather than individual top-end talent.


Anoka junior Stephanie Nielsen won the 100-meter dash in 13.03 seconds and placed third in the 200 in 27.35. Classmate Lexi Fritz won the 1,600 in 5:19.54 and Lindsey Gast placed sixth in 5:37.39 to give the Tornadoes two top-six finishers. Fritz placed second in the 3,200 (12:01.61) behind Andover standout Maddie McKeefry’s winning time of 11:51.00.

Sophomore teammate Estee Sieben placed fourth in the 400 in 64.23.

Senior hurdler Gabbi Guimont won the 300 hurdles in 47.55 and placed second in the 100 hurdles in 16.30. Junior teammate Michelle Tryba was 10th in 17.80 in the 100 hurdles while sophomore Jenna Johnson and junior Madison Lass garnered sixth and 12th places in the 300 hurdles, respectively.

The 100-meter hurdles had Coon Rapids’ Anna Truong and Katie Rehm racing for the finish line.
The 100-meter hurdles had Coon Rapids’ Anna Truong and Katie Rehm racing for the finish line.

Guimont placed second in the high jump, clearing five feet. Anoka teammates Claire Lundberg and Lauren Sherva tied for fifth place to help the team score.

Andover’s Madison Staggert won the triple jump reaching 34-00 while Lundberg and teammate Annie Asp placed third and fourth, respectively.

Anoka swept the third, fourth and fifth places in the long jump led by Nielsen’s jump of 16-01.75. Courtney Hlavka reached 14-08.25 for fourth place and Asp went 14-06.00 for fifth place.

Andover senior pole vaulter Linnea Martens scored a third place finish clearing the bar set at 9-00. Teammates Kylie Probert and Allison Ewald placed sixth and seventh, respectively to give the Huskies three among the top-seven vaulters. Coon Rapids junior McKenzie Haas cleared the bar at 8-06 to place fifth.

Elk River won the 4×400 and 4×800 relays with Anoka’s 4×800 team taking second place and the 4×400 team in third.

Coon Rapids senior thrower Courtey Pasoiwitz won the shot put with a throw of 44-01.25. Andover throwers Marissa McNallan and Hannah Wolfe placed fifth and seventh, respectively to add key team points. Coon Rapids senior thrower Emily Haeska turned in a third place finish in the discus with a toss of 97-03 and Andover’s Olivia Graham placed fourth with a throw of 96-08. McNallan was sixth with a throw of 94-02 and Pasiowitz was seventh reaching 92-05.


Andover senior Kyle Synowczynski beat Coon Rapids sophomore Austen Palmer for the pole vault title. Each cleared the bar set at 12-00 but Synowczynski had fewer faults.

Andover junior Christopher Larson placed third in the 100 in 11.54 and fourth in the 200 in 22.95.

Andover senior Steven Cotter won the 800 in 1:59.55 and Coon Rapids junior Jackson Bednar was runner-up in 2:00.85. Bednar was third in the 1,600 to help add team points for the Cardinals.

Huskies junior Chris Meados won both long distance events against Elk River’s Ryan Trapp. Meados won the 1600 by 0.35 and 3200 by nearly 11 seconds.

Andover senior hurdler Grant Wood placed second in the 300 hurdles and 110 high hurdles. Wood’s teammate Colton Syler placed fifth in the 110 hurdles and Logan Brown finished ninth to give the Huskies three finishers among the top-nine places.

Andover’s 4×200 relay team edged Park Center by 0.37 of a second for the event title. The Huskies 4×100 team placed fourth and 4×400 team placed sixth.

Coon Rapids senior Jason Lilja placed second in the high jump and long jump and sixth place in the triple jump. Cardinals teammate Ray Twumasi scored a third place in the triple jump with a leap of 43-01.75 followed by Anoka senior Moe Strong fourth with a jump of 43-01.00. Tornadoes teammates Ky’eric Baynes and Tony Erickson scored eighth and 10th place finishes, respectively.

Champlin Park swept the top three shot put spots and Coon Rapids senior Cody Peters placed fourth with a throw of 46-08.75 followed by Anoka junior Zach Engren fifth. Tornadoes teammate Kevin Olson placed seventh. Cardinals senior Jacob Grainger scored a fourth place finish in the discus with a throw of 147-06 as Champlin Park’s Tim Ross won the event with a throw of 151-00. Ross was third in the shot put with a throw of 47-10.00.

St. Francis

St. Francis boys placed sixth with 636.5 points while the girls placed eighth with 565 points.

Senior thrower Maggie Ewen picked up two more meet titles winning the shot put crown with a throw of 51-03.00 and the discus with a throw of 175-09.

The Saints triple jumpers placed fourth, fifth and sixth, led by Ann Hunt going 33-01.75 followed by Bailey Demar and Jessica Justin each reaching 33-01.50. Hunt placed fifth in the long jump.

David Reese placed third in the 100 dash in 11.48, tying with two other runners and teammate Jeremy O’Hotto was third in the 800 run in 2:03.68. Hurdler John Santiago was third in the 300 hurdles in 39.98 seconds and seventh in the 110 hurdles.

St. Francis’ 4×100 relay team placed second in 44.28 while Forest Lake won the race in 44.05.

Saints thrower Josh Dronen was fifth in the discus with a throw of 136-02.

Comments Closed