Three Anoka-Hennepin seats up in this fall’s school board election

Three seats on the Anoka-Hennepin School Board will be up for election Nov. 5 – districts three, four and six.

Community members living within those districts who are interested in serving on the board must file for election between July 30 and Aug. 13 at 5 p.m. Members serve four-year terms.

The districts impacted by the election are:

• District Three which includes Champlin and the portions of Dayton within the district plus the northwest section of Coon Rapids. This seat is currently held by Bill Harvey. He was appointed in January to fill out the unexpired term of John Hoffman, who resigned after being elected to the Minnesota Senate.

• District Four which includes the portions of Nowthen, Ham Lake and Oak Grove located within the district plus a large share of Andover and the northeastern section of Ramsey. This seat is currently held by Michael Sullivan, who has served a number of terms and has announced he will not seek re-election.

• District Six which includes northern Coon Rapids and southern Andover. This seat is currently held by Jeff Simon, who was appointed in July 2012 following the resignation of Kathy Tingelstad.

Maps showing election districts are available on the Anoka-Hennepin school district website.

School board candidates must be eligible to vote and 21 years of age or older.

Candidates must also have been a resident of the specific election district for 30 days before the general election and must not have filed for any other office.

Persons interested in running for the board must file an affidavit of candidacy and pay a $2 filing fee by Aug. 13 at 5 p.m.

Candidate filing packets, which include the affidavit form, are available on the Anoka County Elections website

Candidates must file in person at the Anoka County Elections Office, 325 East Main Street, Room W130, Anoka.

For information about candidate filing, voter registration or the election process, contact the Anoka County Elections Office by email at [email protected] or by phone at 763-323-5275.

For information about the school district or serving as a school board member, contact the Anoka-Hennepin Community Education office at 763-506-1269.

Comments Closed